Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Position Classification

The purpose of the classification system is to organize related positions into groups that share common requirements, duties, decision-making requirements, responsibilities, impacts, and/or working conditions. Groups and classifications not only guide consistent entry qualifications but also help govern compensation.


Benton County divides jobs into 9 groups.

  • Management & Executive
  • Clerical & Administrative
  • Legal
  • Maintenance & Operations
  • Clinical Health
  • Technical
  • Information Technology
  • Programming
  • Business & Financial

Classifications and Classification Series

The 9 major job groups above are broken down into 20 classification series and 65 individual classifications.

Sheriff’s Office Deputies Classifications

Job FamilyWorking TitleRepresentationPay Grade
Animal Control DeputyAnimal Control Program ManagerBCDSA120D
Deputy A (DPSST Basic Certification)
Corrections Deputy
Patrol DeputyBCDSA160D
Parole & Probation OfficerBCDSA160D
Deputy B (DPSST Intermediate Certification)Corrections DeputyBCDSA165D
Patrol DeputyBCDSA165D
Parole & Probation OfficerBCDSA165D
Deputy C (DPSST Advanced Certification)Corrections DeputyBCDSA170D
Law Enforcement DeputyBCDSA170D
Parole & Probation OfficerBCDSA170D
Corporal CDeputy CorporalNon-represented190D
SergeantTraining & Recruitment SergeantNon-representedC45
Corrections SergeantNon-representedC45
Law Enforcement SergeantNon-representedC45
Parole & Probation SergeantNon-representedC45
LieutenantCorrections LieutenantNon-representedD62
CaptainLaw Enforcement CaptainNon-representedD71
Corrections CaptainNon-representedD71
Parole & Probation CaptainNon-representedD71
Back to top